Croutons

Finished Croutons

Finished Croutons

Alex, I’ll take “Bread” for $200.

A:  A good use for the end of the loaf of bread when there is not enough to make bread pudding.

Q:  What is, make croutons?

I am not your regular blogger, normally my role is to take the pictures.  I am pinch writing today because I created the croutons. 

We make our own bread and sometimes we jump the gun by making the next loaf before we’ve finished the current one.  Everyone wants the fresh bread, not the end of the old loaf.

What do you do with the left over bread that nobody wants anymore?  Usually, I like to make bread pudding, however when I don’t have enough bread for the pudding, I like to make croutons.  We have lots of lettuce lately and salads are better with croutons.

Preheat your oven to 375F.  In my case, the end of the loaf yielded three slices of bread, including the heel (for those of you out there that chuck the heel, shame on you!).  I liberally buttered the three slices.  I’d say that I probably used 1 tablespoon of butter total.

The Buttered Bread

The Buttered Bread

After the butter is applied, it’s time for the seasonings.  The sky is the limit here, so do what you like.  For this batch, I went simple…kosher salt, freshly cracked black pepper, granulated garlic, and onion powder.  Simple is best some times.  Other spice options include cumin, curry powder, chili powder, cayenne powder, etc.

Once spiced, simply cut the bread into your desired crouton size.  Remember, similar sized pieces will cook more evenly.  Spread out the bread cubes onto a baking sheet.

Some Cut, Some on the Sheet

Some Cut, Some on the Sheet

Cook for 10 – 15 minutes, and start checking for doneness after 10 minutes.  In my oven, about 12-13 did the trick.  The end result is a nice golden brown toast to the bread; they’re crunchy without being rock hard.  They also made the kitchen smell wonderful:  warm bread, melted butter, and some simple spices… excellent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Add-ons, Recipes, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

